March 14, 2017 / 2:03 PM / 4 months ago

Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Wednesday, March 15

5 Min Read

Reuters sports schedule at 0600 GMT on Wednesday:

Soccer

Champions league (1945)

Monaco v Manchester City

Atletico Madrid v Bayer Leverkusen

Monaco turn to Falcao to knock City out

PARIS - Monaco face Manchester City looking to overturn a two-goal deficit in their Champions League last-16 tie. (SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-ASM-MCI/ (PIX), expect by 2145 GMT/5:45 PM ET, by Julien Pretot, 400 words)

Atletico eye fourth straight quarter-final berth

MADRID - Atletico Madrid aim for a place in the last eight of the Champions League for the fourth straight year when they host Bayer Leverkusen after a 4-2 first-leg away win. (SOCCER-CHAMPIONS-ATM-LEV/, expect by 2145 GMT/5:45 PM ET, by Richard Martin, 400 words)

Premier League/FA Cup

We'll have all the latest news ahead of this weekend's Premier League fixtures which include Manchester City against Liverpool. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/, expect throughout)

Asian Cup

KUALA LUMPUR - The Asian Cup qualifier between Malaysia and North Korea, which was postponed last week due to strained relations between the countries, has been rescheduled to June 8, the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) said. (SOCCER-ASIA/MALAYSIA-AFC moved with update to follow, 350 words)

Asian Champions League

Group F leaders Urawa Red Diamonds travel to face Shanghai SIPG in a clash of unbeaten teams, while FC Seoul host Western Sydney Wanderers. In Group H, leaders Jiangsu Suning play Gamba Osaka and Adelaide United host Jeju United. (SOCCER-AFCCHAMPIONS/ expect by 1700 GMT/1 PM ET, by Michael Church, 400 words)

Motor Racing

Formula One season preview package

We will move the first four items of a three-part preview package for the Formula One season, which starts in Australia on March 26. The first part moved at 0200 GMT/10 PM ET, with the second and third parts moving at the same time on Thursday and Friday.

Formula One faces overhaul after Ecclestone departure

LONDON - The old ringmaster Bernie Ecclestone has gone, pushed aside by F1's new American owners, and the marketing men have moved in with a mission to overhaul the circus and give spectators something more modern for their money. (MOTOR-F1-SEASON/FUTURE (PIX), by Alan Baldwin, 600 words)

Drivers beef up to cope with G-force from revamped cars

LONDON - Heavier, faster and more physical, the 2017 Formula One cars are subjecting drivers to far greater G-forces. As a result, they have been putting on muscle over the winter. (MOTOR-F1-SEASON/PHYSICAL (PIX), by Alan Baldwin, 500 words)

We will also move factboxes on F1 changes and the calendar: (MOTOR-F1-SEASON/CALENDAR and MOTOR-F1-SEASON/CHANGES, (GRAPHIC)

Cricket

Kohli, Smith preview third test in Ranchi

RANCHI - India captain Virat Kohli and his Australia counterpart Steve Smith preview the third test which marks Ranchi's debut as a test venue. The four-test series is tied at 1-1. (CRICKET-INDIA/ (PIX), expect by 1100 GMT/7 AM ET, by Amlan Chakraborty, 400 words)

Tennis

ATP/WTA: BNP Paribas Open, Indian Wells (to 19)

Roger Federer and Rafa Nadal powered to third-round wins at the BNP Paribas Open at Indian Wells on Tuesday to set up a mouth-watering rematch of their recent Australian Open final. (TENNIS-INDIANWELLS/MEN moved, 400 words)

Kerber, Venus aim to reach quarters at Indian Wells

German second seed Angelique Kerber faces 14th seed Elena Vesnina of Russia, while 12th-seeded Venus Williams plays Chinese veteran Peng Shuai for quarter-final berths in the BNP Paribas Open at Indian Wells, California. (TENNIS-INDIANWELLS/WOMEN, expect by 0700 GMT/3 AM ET, 400 words)

Nba

Cavs host Pistons, Warriors battle Sixers

LeBron James and the Cleveland Cavaliers, clinging to a slim lead atop the Eastern Conference, host the Detroit Pistons while the Golden State Warriors look to snap a three-game losing skid when they host the Philadelphia 76ers in two of the five games on the National Basketball Association schedule. (NBA-HIGHLIGHTS/, expect by 0730 GMT/3:30 AM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 800 words)

Baseball

World Baseball Classic (to 22)

Puerto Rico handed the Dominican Republic their first World Baseball Classic (WBC) loss since 2009, beating the defending champions 3-1 in their Pool F opener at Petco Park in San Diego. (BASEBALL-CLASSIC/, moved, 400 words)

Nhl

Streaking Sens face Lightning, Caps battle Wild

The red-hot Ottawa Senators seek a seventh consecutive victory when they host the Tampa Bay Lightning while the Washington Capitals host the Minnesota Wild in a matchup of teams in tight races for the leads in their respective divisions in two of the nine games on the National Hockey League schedule. (ICEHOCKEY-NHL-HIGHLIGHTS/, expect by 0730 GMT/3:30 AM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

Commonwealth Games

Gold Coast 2018 presentation

LONDON - Retired Olympic cyclist Anna Meares and officials, including Commonwealth Games Federation chief executive David Grevemberg, attend a Gold Coast 2018 briefing at Australia House. (GAMES-COMMONWEALTH/, expect by 1500 GMT/11 AM ET, by Alan Baldwin, 400 words)

Asia desk editor: Peter Rutherford

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below