February 6, 2017 / 2:17 PM / 6 months ago

Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT/9 AM ET on Monday, Feb 6

Reuters sports schedule at 1400 GMT on Monday:

NFL

Brady, Belichick reflect on stunning Super Bowl win

HOUSTON - Super Bowl Most Valuable Player Tom Brady and winning coach Bill Belichick hold a news conference to reflect on New England's stunning National Football League championship triumph over the Atlanta Falcons. (NFL-SUPERBOWL/, expect by 1900 GMT/2 PM ET, by Larry Fine, 400 words)

RUGBY

Fierce competitor Van der Westhuizen loses his final battle

CAPE TOWN - South African World Cup winner Joost van der Westhuizen, counted among rugby's greatest scrumhalves, diesat the age of 45. (RUGBY UNION/SAFRICA/VANDERWESTHUIZEN-OBIT (OBITUARY), moving shortly, by Nick Said, 536 words)

+ See also:

- RUGBY UNION-SAFRICA/VANDERWESTHUIZEN (UPDATE 1, PIX), moved, by Nick Said, 274 words

CRICKET

Cook steps down as England test captain

Alastair Cook has stepped down as England's test captain but plans to carry on as a player, the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) said on Monday. (CRICKET-ENGLAND/COOK (UPDATE 1, PIX, TV), moved, 214 words)

+ See also:

- CRICKET-ENGLAND/COOK (FACTBOX), moved, 360 words

- CRICKET-ENGLAND/COOK (NEWSMAKER, PIX), moved, 600 words

TENNIS

Argentina hope to seal Davis Cup comeback

BUENOS AIRES - Davis Cup holders Argentina, missing Juan Martin del Potro and 2-0 down after the opening singles, will be looking to complete a remarkable comeback in the postponed fifth and final rubber of their first round tie against Italy. (TENNIS-DAVIS/, play starts 1500 GMT/10 AM ET, by Luis Ampuero, 300 words)

SOCCER

Premier League

We will follow up the weekend's matches and bring you all the latest news from the English top flight. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/ expect throughout)

After Nations Cup, focus turns to World Cup

LIBREVILLE -- African football's focus will turn quickly from the drama of the Nations Cup in Gabon to a busy year of qualifiers for the World Cup in Russia where newly crowned continental champions Cameroon face an uphill task. (SOCCER-AFRICA/, expect by 1700 GMT/12 PM ET, by Mark Gleeson, 400 words)

GOLF

Doubts intensify over Tiger's future after Dubai exit

Tiger Woods' withdrawal from last week's Dubai Desert Classic due to back spasms has cast a huge shadow over his much anticipated return to competition, leaving some experts to ponder whether his brilliant career is now drawing to a premature close. (GOLF-PGA/WOODS (FEATURE), expect by 1900 GMT/2 PM ET, by Mark Lamport-Stokes, 650 words)

NBA

Wizards seek to extend superb home winning streak

The Washington Wizards (30-20) put their 17-game home winning streak on the line when they host the East-leading LeBron James-led Cleveland Cavaliers (34-15) in one of 11 games on the National Basketball Association schedule. (BASKETBALL-NBA-HIGHLIGHTS/, expect by 0700 GMT/2 AM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 800 words)

NHL

Flyers meet Blues as playoffs loom

The Philadelphia Flyers (26-20-7) and St. Louis Blues (25-22-5), both battling to stay in playoff contention, meet in one of three games on the National Hockey League schedule. (ICEHOCKEY-NHL-HIGHLIGHTS/, expect by 2300 GMT/6 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 200 words)

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0100 GMT/8 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 500 words)

Europe desk Editor: Robin Pomeroy

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below