January 24, 2019 / 3:47 AM / 6 months ago

Cricket: Sri Lanka win toss, elect to bat in first test against Australia

BRISBANE, Australia (Reuters) - Sri Lanka captain Dinesh Chandimal won the toss and elected to bat against Australia in the first day-night test at the Gabba on Thursday.

The tourists are without all-rounder Angelo Mathews, who is out with a hamstring injury and been replaced by Dhananjaya de Silva.

After a 2-1 series loss to India, Australia has again reshuffled its brittle batting order, bringing in Joe Burns to open with Marcus Harris.

Kurtis Patterson has been rewarded for successive centuries for a Cricket Australia XI in last week’s match against Sri Lanka in Hobart with his first test cap.

Paceman Jhye Richardson will also make his debut, coming in for the injured Josh Hazlewood.

The second test is at Canberra’s Manuka Oval from Feb. 1.

Australia - Marcus Harris, Joe Burns, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Travis Head, Kutis Patterson, Tim Paine (captain), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Jhye Richardson, Nathan Lyon.

Sri Lanka - Dimuth Karunaratne, Lahiru Thirimanne, Dinesh Chandimal (captain), Kusal Mendis, Roshen Silva, Dhananjaya de Silva, Niroshan Dickwella, Dilruwan Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Kumara

Editing by Greg Stutchbury

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below