March 21, 2018 / 10:04 AM / a year ago

Motor racing-Formula One statistics for the Australian Grand Prix

March 21 (Reuters) - Statistics for Sunday’s season-opening Australian Formula One Grand Prix at Melbourne’s Albert Park circuit:

Lap distance: 5.303 km. Total distance: 307.574km (58 laps)

2017 pole: Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes one minute 22.188 seconds.

2017 winner: Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Ferrari

Race lap record: Michael Schumacher (Germany), Ferrari 2004, One minute 24.125 seconds

Start time: 0510GMT (1610 local)


For the first time in Formula One history, a season opener will have two four-times world champions — Vettel and Hamilton — lining up on the starting grid.


Hamilton has 62 victories from 208 races and is second in the all-time list behind seven-times world champion Michael Schumacher (91). Vettel has 47.

Ferrari have won 229 races since 1950, McLaren 182, Williams 114, Mercedes 76 and Red Bull 55. Former champions McLaren and Williams have not won since 2012.


Hamilton has a record 72 career poles. Vettel has 50.

Pole has produced the winner at Albert Park on nine occasions. Hamilton has been on pole six times there in total (2008, 2012 and 2014-17).

The Briton has won twice in Australia from pole, in 2008 and 2015.

Max Verstappen, at 20 years old, can become the youngest ever pole sitter this season. The current youngest is Vettel, who did it at the age of 21.


Hamilton has 117 career podiums and is second on the all-time list behind Schumacher (155). Vettel has 99, Raikkonen 91.


Hamilton now has 25 scoring finishes in a row and is just two off Kimi Raikkonen’s record of 27.

Four drivers on the grid have yet to score points in their F1 careers: Rookies Charles Leclerc (Sauber) and Sergey Sirotkin (Williams) and the Toro Rosso pair of Brendon Hartley and Pierre Gasly.

Sauber’s Marcus Ericsson last scored a point in 2015.


No Australian has ever won a home grand prix.

There have been 13 Australian F1 drivers since 1950 and two world champions — Jack Brabham and Alan Jones. Daniel Ricciardo is the only Australian in Sunday’s race.

All four of the sport’s active champions (Hamilton, Vettel, Alonso, Raikkonen) have won in Australia.

Melbourne has been the season-opener 20 times. This year’s race is the 23rd to be held at Albert Park. The winner in Melbourne has gone on to be world champion 13 out of 22 times.

The lowest starter to win was Britain’s Eddie Irvine from 11th in 1999 for Ferrari.

Eight of the last 10 races in Australia have seen the safety car deployed. McLaren’s last podium was in Australia in 2014.


Vettel can take his 100th career podium on Sunday.

Sunday will be the first Formula One race with cars equipped with the distinctive new ‘halo’ head protection system. (Reporting by Alan Baldwin; Editing by John O’Brien)

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below