March 27, 2019 / 9:10 AM / 3 months ago

Motor Racing: Statistics for the Bahrain Grand Prix

(Reuters) - Statistics for Sunday’s Bahrain Formula One Grand Prix, the second race of the season.


Lap distance: 5.412 km. Total distance: 308.238 km (57 laps)2018 pole: Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Ferrari2018 winner: VettelRace lap record: One minute 31.447 seconds, Pedro de la Rosa (Spain), McLaren 2005.Start time: 1610 GMT (1810 local)-


Vettel has won four times in Bahrain including the last two, Hamilton twice. No driver has won three times in a row at Sakhir. Ferrari have won six times at Sakhir, Mercedes three.

This year’s race is the 15th edition. The grand prix, first held in 2004, was not run in 2011 due to civil unrest. It switched to a floodlit event in 2014.

Vettel has been on pole a record three times in Bahrain, Hamilton twice.

The driver on pole in Bahrain has been the winner in six of the 14 races to date. It has never been won by anyone starting below the front two rows.

Eleven out of 14 winners have been from the team that ended up winning the constructors’ title that season. The exceptions were Fernando Alonso for Ferrari in 2010 and Vettel in 2017 and 2018.



Hamilton has 73 victories from 230 races and is closing the gap to Schumacher’s record 91. He has also won 51 of the 101 races in the V6 turbo hybrid era that started in 2014.

Vettel, third on the all-time list, has 52.Ferrari have won 235 races since 1950, McLaren 182, Williams 114, Mercedes 88 and Red Bull 59. Former champions McLaren and Williams have not won since 2012.



Hamilton has a record 84 career poles, Vettel 55.



Hamilton has 135 career podiums and would need to finish in the top three in every race this year to equal Schumacher’s record of 155. Vettel has 111.

Red Bull’s Max Verstappen has stood on the podium for six consecutive races, the longest current streak of any driver.



Bahrain is the 999th race since the start of the Formula One world championship in 1950. The 1,000th grand prix will be in Shanghai next month.

Under a rule change for 2019, Valtteri Bottas won an extra point in Australia for setting the fastest race lap — becoming the first driver to do since the 1950s.

Verstappen’s third place in Melbourne was the first for a Honda-powered car since 2008.

Reporting by Alan Baldwin, editing by Peter Rutherford

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below