June 6, 2018 / 5:41 PM / a year ago

Motor racing-Formula One statistics for the Canadian Grand Prix

June 6 (Reuters) - Statistics for Sunday’s Canadian Formula One Grand Prix:

- - - -

Lap distance: 4.361km. Total distance: 305.270km (70 laps)

2017 pole: Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes one minute 11.459 seconds.

2017 winner: Hamilton

Race lap record: 1:13.622. Rubens Barrichello (Brazil) Ferrari, 2004.

Start time: 1710GMT (1410 local)


Lewis Hamilton, Sebastian Vettel and Daniel Ricciardo have won two races each from the first six.

This is only the third time in Formula One history that three teams have shared the first six races equally. The other occasions were 1987 and 1977.

Hamilton has 64 victories from 214 races and is second in the all-time list behind seven-times world champion Michael Schumacher (91). Vettel has 49, Ricciardo seven.

Ferrari have won 231 races since 1950, McLaren 182, Williams 114, Mercedes 78 and Red Bull 57. Former champions McLaren and Williams have not won since 2012.


Hamilton has a record 74 career poles, Vettel 53.

Max Verstappen, at 20 years old, can still become the youngest ever pole sitter this season. The current youngest is Vettel, who did it at the age of 21 years and 72 days.


Hamilton has 122 career podiums and is second on the all-time list behind Schumacher (155). Vettel has 102, Kimi Raikkonen 94.


Hamilton has had a record 31 successive scoring finishes to date, going back to Malaysia 2016 when he last drew a blank. He leads Vettel by 14 points.

Mercedes are 22 points ahead of Ferrari in the constructors’ championship.

Russian rookie Sergey Sirotkin (Williams) is the only driver on the starting grid yet to score a point in his career.

Haas’s Romain Grosjean has yet to open his account for 2018 and including last season the Frenchman has not scored for 10 races in a row.


Hamilton has won six times in Montreal (in 2007, 2010, 2012, 2015, 2016, 2017), including the first of his career, and is now chasing his fourth in a row to equal Michael Schumacher’s record of seven Canadian wins.

The Briton can also beat the record he currently shares with Schumacher of six poles in Montreal.

Fernando Alonso, Ricciardo, Raikkonen and Vettel are also previous winners in Canada. Ricciardo’s first win in F1 was in Montreal in 2014. Raikkonen shares the record for fastest laps in Canada (four) with Schumacher.

Ferrari last won in Montreal, a circuit named after their late great Gilles Villeneuve, in 2004 with Schumacher.

The rain-hit Canadian Grand Prix of 2011 was Formula One’s longest race, lasting four hours, four minutes and 39.537 seconds. The safety car was deployed six times, another record.

The circuit is particularly tough on brakes, with cars slowing from 320kph to 150 in just 1.6 seconds into the ‘Wall of Champions’ chicane.

Canadian Lance Stroll scored his first points in F1 in Canada last year.


Ricciardo’s win in Monaco came in Red Bull’s 250th start.

Vettel can take his 50th win on Sunday.

McLaren’s Fernando Alonso is celebrating his 300th race entered, although it will be his 298th actual start.

McLaren are marking the 50th anniversary of the team’s first win, by founder Bruce McLaren in Belgium on June 9, 1968. (Reporting by Alan Baldwin, editing by Ed Osmond)

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below