Motor racing-Team by team analysis of the Portuguese Grand Prix

    Oct 25 (Reuters) - Team by team analysis of Sunday's
Portuguese Formula One Grand Prix at the Algarve circuit near
Portimao (listed in current championship order):
    MERCEDES (Lewis Hamilton 1, Valtteri Bottas 2) 
    Hamilton started on pole and set an all-time record with his
92nd Formula One win, overtaking Ferrari great Michael
Schumacher. It was his eighth victory of the season and he also
took the fastest lap. Hamilton has now won in a record 24
different countries and leads Bottas by 77 points. Bottas led at
the end of lap one, was passed by Carlos Sainz but then went
ahead again until Hamilton overtook on lap 20. The Briton won by
25.592 seconds, his biggest margin of the year. Mercedes have
won 10 of 12 races and started all of them from pole.  
    RED BULL (Max Verstappen 3, Alexander Albon 12)  
    Verstappen started third and took his ninth podium of the
season, and 40th in Formula One, after dropping to fifth on the
opening lap when he and Perez made contact. Albon started sixth
needing a strong performance to show he deserves to stay in
2021. Instead, he got stuck in traffic and struggled for grip.
Red Bull claimed a record for quick pitstops, with all three
done in under 1.9 seconds.
    RACING POINT (Sergio Perez 7, Lance Stroll retired)
    Perez's points kept Racing Point ahead of McLaren, who
closed the gap to just two in a tight battle for third. The
Mexican went from fifth on the grid to last at the end of the
opening lap after the impact with Verstappen sent him spinning
off and left him with a puncture. Stroll was the sole
retirement, pulling into the garage with a damaged car. He had
collided earlier with Lando Norris. The Canadian collected a
penalty for that and also for exceeding track limits.
    MCLAREN (Carlos Sainz 6, Lando Norris 13)
    Sainz took the race lead on lap two after a lightning start
in light rain, relinquishing it again four laps later as the
track dried and Mercedes got their tyres working. He then
struggled with tyre wear. Norris started eighth, was up to
fourth on lap one but the collision with Stroll forced a front
wing change.
    RENAULT (Esteban Ocon 8, Daniel Ricciardo 9)
    Renault fell two points further behind McLaren but matched
Racing Point in the battle for third. They are still six points
off third. Ricciardo was the first to pit on lap 14, switching
from soft to medium tyres. Ocon meanwhile was the last to stop,
doing 53 laps on the mediums.
    FERRARI (Charles Leclerc 4, Sebastian Vettel 10) 
    Leclerc started fourth while Vettel climbed from 15th. It
was only the third time this year that both Ferraris ended up in
the points. The Monegasque lost four places at the start but
recovered once the tyres warmed up. Both made one stop.
    ALPHATAURI (Pierre Gasly 5, Daniil Kvyat 19)
    Another strong showing from Italian GP winner Gasly, who
started on soft tyres. The Frenchman passed Perez towards the
end despite some tough defending by the Mexican. Kvyat said he
struggled for grip from the start. AlphaTauri have now scored in
nine successive races.
    ALFA ROMEO (Kimi Raikkonen 11, Antonio Giovinazzi 15)
    Raikkonen made a storming start on the soft tyres, surging
from 16th to sixth at the end of lap one, but ultimately the
Finn could not sustain it with Vettel using DRS to get past for
the final point.
    HAAS (Kevin Magnussen 16, Romain Grosjean 17)
    No points for two drivers who were told last week that their
services would not be required next season. Both gained on their
starting places, however. Grosjean was handed a five second
penalty for exceeding track limits, dropping him to 17th.    
    WILLIAMS (George Russell 14, Nicholas Latifi 18)
    Russell also started 14th and might have been 12th but for a
pitstop issue.

 (Reporting by Alan Baldwin; Editing by Ken Ferris)