March 27, 2019 / 12:15 PM / 3 months ago

Soccer: Galatasaray youngster praised for deliberate penalty miss

ANKARA (Reuters) - The captain of Galatasaray’s Under-14 team has earned praise with a rare act of sportsmanship as he deliberately missed a penalty following what he believed was a wrong call by the referee.

Beknaz Almazbekov, Galatasaray’s 13-year-old captain, dribbled inside from the left and fell down under pressure from an Istanbulspor defender in the box.

The referee gave a penalty, but Almazbekov disagreed.

With his team already winning 1-0, he rejected the opportunity to double their lead and intentionally kicked the ball out of play. The match took place on March 24.

Almazbekov’s side went on to beat Istanbulspor 3-0.

Reporting by Ece Toksabay; Editing by Daren Butler and Christian Radnedge

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below