August 18, 2017 / 12:02 AM / a month ago

Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Friday, Aug 18

Reuters sports schedule at 0600 GMT on Friday:

SOCCER

English Premier League

We will have all the latest news ahead of this weekend’s second round of fixtures with coverage of the managers’ news conferences including Tottenham Hotspur’s Mauricio Pochettino ahead of the London derby against Chelsea at Wembley on Sunday. (SOCCER-ENGLAND-TEAM/, expect throughout, 300 words)

Bundesliga

Bayern Munich v Bayer Leverkusen (1830)

MUNICH - Champions Bayern Munich, missing several key players through injury, kick off their Bundesliga title defence against Bayer Leverkusen in the opening match of the season. (SOCCER-GERMANY-BAY-B04/ (PIX, TV), expect by 2015 GMT/4.15 PM ET, by Karolos Grohmann, 400 words)

RUGBY

Rugby Championship

Australia and New Zealand prepare for Sydney clash

SYDNEY - Australia’s Michael Hooper and Kieran Read hold their Captain’s Run media conferences ahead of the Rugby Championship opener at Sydney’s Olympic Stadium on Saturday. (RUGBY-UNION-CHAMPIONSHIP-AUS-NZL/, expect throughout, by Nick Mulvenney, 400 words)

CRICKET

England v West Indies first test (to 21)

England resume on 348-3 versus West Indies

BIRMINGHAM, England - England opener Alastair Cook resumes on 153 not out against West Indies with the hosts in a dominant position at 348-3 on the second day of the first test at Edgbaston. (CRICKET-TEST-ENG-WIN/), expect by 1530 GMT/11:30 AM ET, by Ed Osmond, 400 words)

GOLF

PGA Tour: Wyndham Championship (to 20)

Every leads Stenson by one at Sedgefield

GREENSBORO, North Carolina - Swede Henrik Stenson, one shot from the lead after an opening eight-under 62, will seek to capitalise on his morning tee time at Sedgefield Country Club. (GOLF-WYNDHAM/, expect by 1900 GMT/3 PM ET, by Andrew Both, 400 words)

LPGA: Solheim Cup (to 20) West Des Moines, Iowa

Thompson and Kerr lead off United States against Europe

American captain Juli Inkster will send out the powerful duo of Lexi Thompson and Cristie Kerr in the first of four morning foursomes matches, while Europe captain Annika Sorenstam will go with experience as the biennial team event kicks off at Des Moines Country Club. (GOLF-WOMEN-SOLHEIM/, expect by 1500 GMT/3 PM ET, 400 words)

Fiji International, Sigatoka (to 20)

New Zealand’s Pearce leads, local favourite Singh struggles

Former world number one and home favourite Vijay Singh trails by six after the second round at Natadola Bay, with overnight leader Daniel Pearce joined by Jason Norris, Scott Hend and Gavin Green in a four-way tie at the top. (GOLF-EUROPEAN/, expect by 0700 GMT/3 AM ET, 200 words)

TENNIS

ATP/WTA: Cincinnati Open, (to 20)

Thiem and Ferrer set for quarter-final clash

Austrian Dominic Thiem faces Spain’s David Ferrer in the quarter-finals at the Lindner Family Tennis Center while Bulgarian Grigor Dimitrov battles Japan’s Yuichi Sugita for a berth in the semi-finals. (TENNIS-CINCINNATI/MEN, expect by 0330 GMT/11:30 PM ET, 350 words)

Muguruza, Halep seek passage to Cincinnati semis

Wimbledon champion Garbine Muguruza faces Russian Svetlana Kuznetsova in quarter-final action while Romanian Simona Halep faces Britain’s Johanna Konta for a ticket to the semi-finals. (TENNIS-CINCINNATI/WOMEN, expect by 0230 GMT/10:30 PM ET, 350 words)

BASEBALL

Ryu leads Dodgers in clash with Tigers

South Korean left-hander Ryu Hyun-jin takes the mound for the National League West-division leading Los Angeles Dodgers against the Detroit Tigers while the New York Yankees renew their rivalry with the Boston Red Sox in two of 15 games on the Major League Baseball schedule. (BASEBALL-MLB-HIGHLIGHTS/, expect by 0530 GMT/1:30 AM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 800 words)

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 500 words) (Asia desk editor: Peter Rutherford)

Our Standards:The Thomson Reuters Trust Principles.
0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below