September 8, 2017 / 6:02 AM / 18 days ago

Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Friday, Sept 8

Reuters sports schedule at 0600 GMT on Friday:

SOCCER

Premier League

We will bring you all the latest news and coverage of the managers’ press conferences as the Premier League resumes after the international break with Pep Guardiola’s Manchester City hosting Juergen Klopp’s Liverpool in our showcase match at the Etihad Stadium on Saturday. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/, expect throughout)

Ligue 1

Lille v Girondins Bordeaux (1700)

Metz v Paris St Germain (1845)

PSG set to field Mbappe, Neymar and Cavani against Metz

PARIS - Paris Saint-Germain are expected to unleash their new striking trio of exciting teenage debutant Kylian Mbappe, the world’s most expensive player Brazilian Neymar and in-form Uruguay forward Edinson Cavani at Metz in Ligue 1. (SOCCER-FRANCE/ (PIX), expect by 2045 GMT/4:45 PM ET, 400 words)

Bundesliga

Hamburg SV v RB Leipzig (1830)

In-form Hamburg face early Leipzig test

BERLIN - Third-placed Hamburg, who have had a perfect start after battling relegation last term, host last season’s runners-up RB Leipzig, who have begun with a win and a defeat. (SOCCER-GERMANY-HSV-RBL/, by Karolos Grohmann, 300 words)

Mourinho must end United title drought this season - Queiroz

HONG KONG - Jose Mourinho must lead Manchester United to the English title this season if he is to re-establish the culture that under-pinned the success of the Alex Ferguson era, the Scotsman’s former right-hand man Carlos Queiroz has told Reuters. (SOCCER-ENGLAND-MUN-QUEIROZ/, expect at 0700 GMT/3 AM ET, by Michael Church, 581 words)

TENNIS

U.S. Open (to 10)

Nadal battles Del Potro in semi-finals

NEW YORK - World number one Rafa Nadal faces Argentine Juan Martin del Potro after big-serving South African Kevin Anderson meets Spain’s Pablo Carreno Busta in Arthur Ashe Stadium. (TENNIS-USOPEN/ (PIX), expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, by Steve Keating, Rory Carroll and Julien Pretot, 500 words)

CRICKET

England v West Indies, third test, Lord’s

England look for runs after extraordinary start

LONDON - England resume on 46-4, 77 runs behind West Indies, who were 123 all out when Ben Stokes took a career-best six for 22 while James Anderson moved to 499 test wickets, as the teams head into the second day of the series-deciding third test at Lord‘s. (CRICKET-TEST-ENG-WIN/ (PIX, GRAPHIC), expect from 1200 GMT/8 AM ET, by Martyn Herman, 400 words)

CYCLING

Vuelta a Espana

Froome goes into stage 19 ahead of challenger Nibali

Britain’s Chris Froome has an overall lead of one minute 37 seconds heading into stage 19, which is a 149.7-km route from Caso to Gijon, as he bids to hold off the challenge of Italy’s Vincenzo Nibali and become the first rider in 39 years to win the Vuelta and Tour de France in the same season. (CYCLING-VUELTA/, expect by 1800 GMT/2 PM ET, 300 words)

RUGBY

Rugby Championship

We continue the build-up to Saturday’s third round of the Rugby Championship with New Zealand hosting Argentina in New Plymouth and Australia facing off against South Africa in Perth. (RUGBY-UNION-CHAMPIONSHIP/, expect throughout)

GOLF

LPGA: Indy Women in Tech Championship: (to 9), Indianapolis, Indiana

Thompson has roaring start with 63 at Indy

Lexi Thompson fired a nine-under 63 for a one-stroke lead over fellow American Kris Tamulis and Germany’s Sandra Gal at the Brickyard Crossing Golf Club at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. (GOLF-WOMEN/, expect by 0100 GMT/9 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 300 words)

Asia desk editor: Greg Stutchbury

Our Standards:The Thomson Reuters Trust Principles.
0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below