May 4, 2018 / 2:00 PM / 2 months ago

Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Saturday

Reuters sports schedule at 0600 GMT on Saturday:

SOCCER

Premier League 1400 (unless stated)

Stoke City v Crystal Palace (1130)

Bournemouth v Swansea City

Leicester City v West Ham United

Watford v Newcastle United

West Bromwich Albion v Tottenham Hotspur

Everton v Southampton (1630)

West Brom face must-win game at home to Spurs

LONDON - Bottom side West Bromwich Albion must beat visiting Tottenham Hotspur, who are looking to secure a Champions League spot, to avoid relegation, while Stoke City and Southampton also battle against the drop. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/, expect from 1330 GMT/9:30 AM ET, by Steve Tongue and Ian Chadband, 400 words)

We will also have individual reports on every Premier League match (SOCCER-ENGLAND-TEAMA-TEAMB/)

Serie A

Milan v Hellas Verona (1600)

Juventus v Bologna (1845)

Juve bid to move closer to title success

MILAN - Serie A leaders Juventus, four points clear of second-placed Napoli, have an excellent chance to move closer to a seventh successive title when they host mid-table Bologna. (SOCCER-ITALY/ (PIX), expect from 1800 GMT/2 PM ET, 300 words)

La Liga

Girona v Eibar (1100)

Athletic Club v Real Betis (1415)

Celta Vigo v Deportivo La Coruna (1630)

Villarreal v Valencia (1845)

Unbeaten Barca prepare for Real Madrid Clasico clash

Barcelona coach Ernesto Valverde and Real Madrid counterpart Zinedine Zidane address the media as the Spanish champions prepare for the final Clasico of the season against a Real Madrid side aiming to end their rivals’ unbeaten run. (SOCCER-SPAIN-FCB-MAD/PREVIEW-VALVERDE (TV), by Joe Walker, 400 words)

Bundesliga (1330)

Bayern Munich v Eintracht Frankfurt

Hertha Berlin v Augsburg

Freiburg v FC Cologne

Schalke 04 v Borussia Moenchengladbach

VfL Wolfsburg v Hamburg

Bayer Leverkusen v VfB Stuttgart

Bundesliga ever-presents Hamburg bid to stave off relegation

BERLIN - Hamburg, the only ever-present team in the Bundesliga’s 55-year history, will be relegated if they fail to win at Eintracht Frankfurt and VfL Wolfsburg beat RB Leipzig away. (SOCCER-GERMANY/ (PIX), expect from 1530 GMT/11:30 AM ET, by Karolos Grohmann, 400 words)

A-League Final - Newcastle Jets v Melbourne Victory

Jets look to shoot down Victory in A-League final

SYDNEY - The Newcastle Jets, bottom of the A-League last season, face three-times Australian champions Melbourne Victory in this year’s final at a sold-out Hunter Stadium as they look to put the finishing touches to a remarkable turnaround. (SOCCER-AUSTRALIA/, expect from 1200 GMT/8 AM ET, by Nick Mulvenney, 400 words)

Women’s English FA Cup Final

Arsenal v Chelsea (1630)

London derby in women’s FA Cup showpiece at Wembley

LONDON - Arsenal take on Chelsea in the final of the women’s FA Cup at Wembley. (SOCCER-ENGLAND-ARS-CHE/WOMEN-FINAL (PIX), expect from 1830 GMT/2:30 PM ET, 300 words)

HORSE RACING

Justify bids for Kentucky Derby crown

Justify hopes to live up to his name as the lightly raced colt goes off as the favourite over European-trained Mendelssohn in the 144th Kentucky Derby, the first leg in American thoroughbred racing’s Triple Crown. (HORSERACING-KENTUCKY/ (PIX, TV), expect by 2300 GMT/7 PM ET, 400 words)

RUGBY

Super Rugby Week 12

Wellington Hurricanes v Lions, Wellington (0735)

NSW Waratahs v Auckland Blues, Sydney (0945)

Stormers v Bulls, Cape Town (1305)

Sharks v Otago Highlanders, Durban (1515)

Hurricanes out for revenge against the Lions

The Wellington Hurricanes will be out for revenge over the Lions after losing to the South Africans in Johannesburg in last year’s playoff semi-finals. (RUGBY-UNION-SUPER/HURRICANES expect by 0930 GMT/5:30 AM ET, 300 words)

We will also move rolling HIGHLIGHTS of every match through the weekend. (RUGBY-UNION-SUPER/HIGHLIGHTS)

Stormers’ perfect home record on the line against Bulls

CAPE TOWN - South Africa’s Stormers defend their 100 percent home record this season as they face the Bulls at Newlands. (RUGBY-UNION-SUPER/STORMERS, expect by 1455 GMT/10:55 AM ET, by Nick Said, 400 words)

GOLF

Wells Fargo Championship, Charlotte, North Carolina (to 6)

Malnati leads Day and Wise by one

Peter Malnati, at seven-under 135, takes a one-stroke lead over Jason Day and Aaron Wise into the third round at Quail Hollow, while Tiger Woods and Rory McIlroy will tee-off nine strokes behind. (GOLF-WELLSFARGO/, expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, 400 words)

LPGA Tour: LPGA Texas Classic, The Colony, Texas (to 6)

Weather-plagued event continues

The first round is scheduled for completion two days behind schedule at Old American Golf Club in an event that has been reduced to 36 holes. (GOLF-WOMEN/TEXAS, expect by 0200 GMT/10 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 400 words)

CYCLING

Giro d’Italia

Dumoulin leads heading into stage two, Froome off the pace

JERUSALEM - Dutchman Tom Dumoulin holds the overall lead as he bids to retain his title while Tour de France champion Chris Froome, who cut and grazed his knee in the opening time trial, is a distant 21st going into the 167km second stage from Haifa to Tel Aviv. (CYCLING-GIRO/, (PIX, TV), by Ori Lewis, 400 words)

ATHLETICS

American Coleman has eyes on dominant outdoor season

KNOXVILLE, TN - World indoor record holder Christian Coleman tells Reuters he will not let up on his blistering speed show when the outdoor season starts as the American goes for top performances in the 100 and 200 metres. (ATHLETICS-COLEMAN/ (INTERVIEW, PIX), moving at 0900 GMT/5 AM ET, by Gene Cherry, 600 words)

TENNIS

Munich Open

Zverev plays Chung, Kohlschreiber v Marterer in Munich semis

MUNICH - Top seed Alexander Zverev takes on Korean Hyeon Chung at the Munich Open while the other semi-final is an all-German affair between sixth seed Philipp Kohlschreiber and Maximilian Marterer. (TENNIS-MUNICH/MEN (PIX), 300 words)

Istanbul Open

Japan’s Daniel plays Frenchman Chardy in Istanbul semis

ISTANBUL - Japan’s Taro Daniel faces France’s Jeremy Chardy at the Istanbul Open while Tunisia’s Malek Jaziri plays in the other semi-final. (TENNIS-ISTANBUL/MEN, 300 words)

Prague Open Final

Kvitova takes on Buzarnescu in Prague showpiece

Petra Kvitova faces Romanian Mihaela Buzarnescu in the final of the Prague Open with the Czech vying for her second title this year after her February triumph in St Petersburg. (TENNIS-PRAGUE/WOMEN, 300 words)

Rabat Grand Prix

Mertens meets Tomljanovic in Rabat final

RABAT - Belgian Elise Mertens bids for her third WTA title this year when she faces Australian Ajla Tomljanovic in the final of the Rabat Grand Prix. (TENNIS-RABAT/WOMEN, 300 words)

Madrid Open

Pliskova, Venus, Svitolina and Ostapenko in action

MADRID - Former world number one Karolina Pliskova, Venus Williams, fourth seed Elina Svitolina and French Open champion Jelena Ostapenko are among those competing in the first round. (TENNIS-MADRID/WOMEN, 300 words)

MotoGP - Spanish Grand Prix

Qualifying for the Spanish Grand Prix

Ducati’s Italian Andrea Dovizioso leads the championship, a point clear of Honda’s reigning champion and local favourite Marc Marquez as qualifying begins for the Spanish Grand Prix. (MOTOR-MOTOGP-SPAIN/ (TV), 400 words)

NBA

Cavaliers and Celtics chase 3-0 series leads

The Cleveland Cavaliers, back home in Ohio, go for a commanding 3-0 lead over the Toronto Raptors after the Boston Celtics try to make it 3-0 over the Philadelphia 76ers in their best-of-seven Eastern Conference semi-final playoff series. (BASKETBALL-NBA/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0330 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 800 words)

NHL

Playoff advantage at stake

Series leads will be on the line when the Pittsburgh Penguins visit the Washington Capitals and the Winnipeg Jets play at the Nashville Predators in a pair of Stanley Cup playoff competitions deadlocked at 2-2. (ICEHOCKEY-NHL/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0330 GMT/11:30 PM, ET, by Field Level Media, 800 words)

BASEBALL

Dodgers and Padres meet up in Mexico

The Los Angeles Dodgers take on the San Diego Padres in the second game of a special series in Monterrey, Mexico and Charlie Morton goes for his fifth consecutive win when the Houston Astros visit the Arizona Diamondbacks in two of the 15 games on the Major League Baseball schedule. (BASEBALL-MLB/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0330 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 800 words)

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 500 words)

Asia Desk Editor: Peter Rutherford

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below