May 17, 2018 / 12:05 AM / 2 months ago

Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Thursday

Reuters sports schedule at 0600 GMT on Thursday:

SOCCER

Europa League final

Reaction following Atletico Madrid’s Europa League triumph

MADRID - A round-up of press coverage and reaction in Spain after Atletico Madrid’s Europa League win over Olympique de Marseille. (SOCCER-EUROPA-FINAL/REACTION, expect by 1000 GMT/6 AM ET, 400 words)

Serie A

Juventus keeper Buffon to hold news conference

TURIN - Juventus goalkeeper Gianluigi Buffon will hold a press conference amid expectations that he could announce his retirement at the end of the season. (SOCCER-ITALY-JUV/BUFFON (PIX), expect by 1200 GMT/8 AM ET, 300 words)

La Liga

Iniesta set for emotional farewell in final game for Barca

MADRID - Barcelona’s departing captain Andres Iniesta will be the focus of all the attention in the Liga champions’ final game of the season at home to Real Sociedad, which is the midfielder’s last game after 16 years pulling the strings of Barca’s midfield. (SOCCER-SPAIN/, expect by 1200 GMT/8 AM ET, 400 words)

World Cup

France coach Deschamps talks about his World Cup squad

PARIS - France coach Didier Deschamps holds a news conference after announcing his list of selected players for the World Cup in Russia. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-FRA/DESCHAMPS (TV), expect by 1800 GMT/2 PM ET, by Julien Pretot, 400 words)

Portugal coach Fernando Santos to name his World Cup squad

MADRID - Portugal coach Fernando Santos to unveil his squad for the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-POR/ (TV), expect by 1915 GMT/3:15 PM ET, 400 words)

England manager Southgate holds news conference

LONDON - A day after naming his World Cup squad, England manager Gareth Southgate holds a news conference at Wembley Stadium. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-ENG/ (PIX, TV), expect by 1200 GMT/8 AM ET, by Martyn Herman, 400 words)

Senegal coach Cisse to name squad

DAKAR - Senegal will announce their squad for the World Cup at a press conference hosted by coach Aliou Cisse. The west Africans meet Poland, Japan and Colombia in Group H. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-SEN/, expect by 1400 GMT/10 AM ET, 300 words)

Bundesliga relegation playoff

VfL Wolfsburg v Holstein Kiel (first leg)

WOLFSBURG - Bundesliga club VfL Wolfsburg host Holstein Kiel, who finished third in the second division, in the first leg of their relegation/promotion playoff. (SOCCER-GERMANY-WOB-HKI/ (TV), expect by 1830 GMT/2:30 PM ET, by Karolos Grohmann, 300 words)

WADA

Russia on WADA Foundation board agenda

MONTREAL - The World Anti-Doping Agency holds its annual Foundation board meeting in Montreal where members are expecting an update on Russia’s efforts to reach compliance. (SPORT-DOPING/WADA, expect by 2100 GMT/5 PM ET, by Steve Keating, 300 words)

TENNIS

Italian Open

Halep and Wozniacki in action

Top seed Simona Halep will face American Madison Keys in the Italian Open last 16, while second seed Caroline Wozniacki takes on Anastasija Sevastova of Latvia. (TENNIS-ROME/WOMEN (PIX), expect by 2000 GMT/4 PM ET, 300 words)

Djokovic eyes first quarter-final of 2018

ROME - Former world number one Novak Djokovic will face Spain’s Albert Ramos-Vinolas in the last 16 of the Italian Open. (TENNIS-ROME/MEN (PIX, TV), expect by 2000 GMT/4 PM ET, 300 words)

CYCLING

Giro d’Italia

Simon Yates retains the overall lead heading into stage 12 of the Giro d’Italia, a 213-kilometre ride from Osimo to Imola. (CYCLING-GIRO/ (TV), expect by 1700 GMT/1 PM ET, 300 words)

GOLF

PGA Tour: AT&T Byron Nelson (to 20) Dallas, Texas

Spieth, Garcia and Scott in action

World number three Jordan Spieth heads a field at Trinity Forest Golf Club that includes former U.S. Masters champions Sergio Garcia of Spain and Australian Adam Scott as well as defending champion Bill Horschel. (GOLF-BYRONNELSON/, expect by by 2330 GMT/7:30 PM ET, 400 words)

NHL

Caps try to push Lightning to brink

The Washington Capitals try to push the Tampa Bay Lightning to the brink of elimination from the Stanley Cup Playoffs when they take a 2-1 series lead into Game Four of the best-of-seven Eastern Conference final. (ICEHOCKEY-NHL/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0330 GMT/11:30 PM, ET, by Field Level Media, 500 words)

BASEBALL

Dodgers Maeda faces Marlins, Giants host Rockies

Japanese right-hander Kenta Maeda takes the mound for the Los Angeles Dodgers versus the host Miami Marlins while the San Francisco Giants host the Colorado Rockies in two of the 10 games on the Major League Baseball schedule. (BASEBALL-MLB/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0330 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 800 words)

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (Expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 500 words) (Asia Desk Editor: Ian Ransom)

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below