June 21, 2018 / 12:06 AM / 5 months ago

Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Thursday

Reuters sports schedule at 0600 GMT on Thursday:

SOCCER

World Cup

Group C

Denmark v Australia (1200)

France v Peru (1500)

Denmark v Australia

SAMARA - Denmark, who won their opening game against Peru, can take a huge step towards the last 16 with victory at the Samara Arena over Australia, who lost their first Group C match to France. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-DNK-AUS/ (PIX, TV), expect by 1400 GMT/10 AM ET, by Nick Mulvenney, Toby Davis and Jack Tarrant, 500 words)

France v Peru

YEKATERINBURG - France play Peru in Group C, with the ‘Incas’ fighting for World Cup survival and ‘Les Bleus’ seeking a more convincing display than their sluggish 2-1 opening victory over Australia. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-FRA-PER/ (PIX, TV), expect by 1700 GMT/1 PM ET, by Brian Homewood, Julien Pretot, Mark Trevelyan and Shrivathsa Sridhar, 500 words)

Group D

Argentina v Croatia (1800)

NIZHNY NOVGOROD - Argentina play Croatia, with the South Americans looking for their first victory at this year’s World Cup following their disappointing draw with Iceland in their opening match. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-ARG-CRO/ (PIX, TV), expect by 2000 GMT/4 PM ET, by Andrew Cawthorne, Alexandra Ulmer, Angus MacSwan and Mark Gleeson, 500 words)

News conferences

Group D

Nigeria news conference and training session

VOLGOGRAD, Russia - Nigeria hold a news conference and training session ahead of their World Cup Group D match against Iceland at the Volgograd Arena. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-NGA-ICE/PREVIEW (PIX)(TV), expect by 1400 GMT/10 AM ET, by William Schomberg, 400 words)

Iceland news conference and training session

VOLGOGRAD, Russia - Iceland training session and news conference ahead of their Group D match against Nigeria at the Volgograd Arena. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-NGA-ICE/PREVIEW (PIX, TV), expect by 1000 GMT/6 AM ET, by William Schomberg, 400 words)

Group E

Brazil news conference and training session

ST PETERSBURG - Brazil coach Tite holds a news conference on the eve of his team’s World Cup Group E match against Costa Rica in St Petersburg. Brazil drew their opening match with Switzerland 1-1. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-BRA-CRI/PREVIEW (PIX, TV), expect by 1200 GMT/8 AM ET, by Simon Evans, 400 words)

Costa Rica news conference and training session

SAINT PETERSBURG - Costa Rica coach Oscar Ramirez holds a news conference on the eve of his team’s World Cup Group E match against Brazil in St Petersburg. Costa Rica are bottom of the group after losing their opening match 1-0 to Serbia. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-BRA-CRI/PREVIEW (PIX, TV), expect by 1400 GMT/10 AM ET, by Simon Evans, 400 words)

Switzerland news conference and training session

KALININGRAD, Russia - Switzerland prepare for their World Cup Group E match against Serbia at the Kaliningrad Stadium. SOCCER-WORLDCUP-SRB-SWI/PREVIEW (PIX, TV), expect by 1600 GMT/12 PM ET, by Steve Keating, 400 words)

Serbia news conference and training session

KALININGRAD, Russia - Serbia prepare for their World Cup Group E match against Switzerland at the Kaliningrad Stadium. SOCCER-WORLDCUP-SRB-SWI/PREVIEW (PIX, TV), expect by 1830 GMT/2:30 PM ET, by Steve Keating, 400 words)

Group F

Germany media opportunity and training session

SOCHI, Russia - Germany’s Mats Hummels, Timo Werner, Mario Gomez and Sami Khedira speak to the media before the world champions hold a training session in Sochi. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-GER/ (TV), expect by 1000 GMT/6 AM ET, by Karolos Grohmann, 400 words)

Sweden train ahead of Germany clash

GELENDZHIK, Russia - Selected Sweden players will speak to the media before they train behind closed doors ahead of their World Cup Group F clash with Germany in Sochi on Satuday. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-SWE/ expect by 1030 GMT/6:30 AM ET, by Philip OConnor, 400 words)

Follow-ups

Reaction to Uruguay reaching second round

ROSTOV-ON-DON, Russia - Uruguay players Lucas Torreira, Diego Godin and Luis Suarez react to their side’s 1-0 win over Saudi Arabia which saw them into the last 16 of the World Cup. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-URY-SAU/ (PIX), expect by 1000 GMT/6 AM ET, by Julien Pretot and Richard Martin, 400 words)

Reaction to Portugal victory

MOSCOW - Follow up of Portugal’s 1-0 win over Morocco. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-POR-MAR/, expect by 1000 GMT/6 AM ET, by Brian Homewood, 400 words)

Reaction to Iran v Spain

KAZAN, Russia - Reaction and analysis after Spain’s World Cup Group B game against Iran. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP-IRN-ESP/ expect by 1000 GMT/6 AM ET, by Richard Martin, 400 words)

Big stage hits, and misses, affect top names in pocket

MOSCOW - Ronaldo, Messi and Neymar dominate league tables of players’ brand values - so how will their contrasting performances on the biggest stage of all affect those? Where Cristiano Ronaldo rescued Portugal with a penalty and a sublime make-or-break late free-kick, Lionel Messi missed a spot-kick to drop points for Argentina and Neymar failed to shine when Brazil also failed to win. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP/MONEY-PLAYERS (PIX), expect by 1200 GMT/8 AM ET, by Alastair Macdonald, 500 words)

Boots and balls carved out of amber in Kaliningrad village

SVETLOGORSK, RUSSIA - Amber, known as the Baltic gold, is Kaliningrad’s biggest treasure. Craftsmen in seaside villages are using various techniques to turn raw yellow stones into shiny jewelry. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP/AMBER (TV), expect by 1600 GMT/12 PM ET, by Polina Ivanova, 400 words)

In the Moscow Metro, commuters catch up on the soccer

MOSCOW - Commuters on the Moscow Metro are able to watch live World Cup action from all across Russia. (SOCCER-WORLDCUP/METRO (PIX, TV), expect by 1400 GMT/10 AM ET)

MOTOR RACING

French Formula One Grand Prix

French Grand Prix media day

LE CASTELLET, FRANCE - Last weekend’s Le Mans 24 Hours winner Fernando Alonso appears in a news conference with France’s three Formula One drivers ahead of the first French Grand Prix in a decade. We will also have stories from around the paddock. (MOTOR-F1-FRANCE/ (PIX, TV), expect by 1500 GMT/11 AM ET, by Alan Baldwin, 400 words)

Le Castellet brings back fond memories for Prost

LONDON - Alain Prost has many great memories of racing at Le Castellet, scene of fierce battles and famous wins, and yet it is the long days of winter testing in the 1980s that provide some of the fondest as the circuit prepares to host the French Grand Prix for the first time in 28 years. (MOTOR-F1-FRANCE/PROST, moved, by Alan Baldwin, 600 words)

TENNIS

ATP 500 - Fever-Tree Championships, Queen’s Club

LONDON - Former world number one Novak Djokovic takes on former Queen’s champion Grigor Dimitrov for a place in the quarter-finals while home hope Kyle Edmund is up against Andy Murray’s conqueror Nick Kyrgios. (TENNIS-LONDON/ (PIX, TV), expect by 1500 GMT/11 AM ET, 400 words)

ATP - Halle Open

Federer targets quarter-final spot

World number one Roger Federer, chasing a record-extending 10th title in Halle, takes on Frenchman Benoit Paire for a place in the quarter-finals. (TENNIS-HALLE/, expect by 1800 GMT/2 PM ET, 250 words)

WTA Premier - Nature Valley Classic

BIRMINGHAM - Wimbledon champion Garbine Muguruza will continue her grasscourt campaign against Czech Barbora Strycova in the second round of the Nature Valley Classic (TENNIS-BIRMINGHAM/WOMEN, expect by 1800 GMT/2 PM ET, 250 words)

RUGBY

Changed All Blacks face resurgent France in final test

WELLINGTON - An injury-affected All Blacks have made several changes to their side for the third test against France with the series won, while the visitors have surprisingly dropped captain Matheiu Bastareaud but have shown signs of resurgence. We will also move an accompanying FACTBOX. (RUGBY-UNION-NZL-FRA/ (PREVIEW), moving at 0605 GMT/2:05 AM ET, 400 words)

Impressive Ireland strong favourites to wrap up series

SYDNEY - An impressive Ireland side underlined why they are the second-best team in the world last week in Melbourne and are strong favourites to seal their series against the Wallabies in the third test in Sydney. (RUGBY-UNION-AUS-IRL/ (PREVIEW), expect by 1000 GMT/6 AM ET, 400 words)

We will also move accompanying FACTBOXES

England team to face South Africa in third test

DURBAN - England coach Eddie Jones names his team for the third and final test against South Africa at Newlands in Cape Town on Saturday, hoping to end a run of five straight defeats. (RUGBY-UNION-ENG/TEAM, expect by 1000 GMT/6 AM ET, by Nick Said, 400 words)

South Africa name team to face England in third test

CAPE TOWN - South Africa coach Rassie Erasmus will name his side to face England in the third and final test at Newlands on Saturday as the Springboks seek a series sweep. (RUGBY-UNION-ZAF/TEAM, expect by 1100 GMT/7 AM ET, by Nick Said, 400 words)

GOLF

PGA Tour: Travelers Championship, Connecticut (to 24)

Spieth tries to move on from disappointing U.S. Open

Defending champion Jordan Spieth, fresh off his missed cut at the U.S. Open, will be among the four reigning major championship winners competing in the first round at the TPC River Highlands in Cromwell, Connecticut. (GOLF-TRAVELERS/, expect by 0030 GMT/8:30 PM ET, 400 words)

ATHLETICS

Jamaican championships (to 24)

Sprinters begin hunt for IAAF World Cup spots

KINGSTON – Reigning Olympic champion Elaine Thompson and two-time Olympic gold medallist Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce begin competition in the women’s 100 metres on the first day of the Jamaica national championships. (ATHLETICS-JAMAICA/ expect by 0245 GMT/10:45 PM ET, by Kayon Raynor, 350 words)

U.S. championships (to 24)

Lyles and Baker open bid for 100m title

Young sprinters Noah Lyles and Ronnie Baker feature in first-round action in the 100 metres as the U.S. championships begin in Des Moines, Iowa. (ATHLETICS-USA/, expect by 0215 GMT/10:15 PM ET, 400 words)

BASEBALL

Scherzer leads Nats into clash with Orioles

Two-times reigning National League Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer takes the mound for the Washington Nationals in a clash with the visiting Baltimore Orioles in one of 10 games on the Major League Baseball schedule. (BASEBALL-MLB/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0330 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 800 words)

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 500 words) (Asia desk editor: Peter Rutherford)

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below