Reuters logo
REFILE-Reuters Sports Schedule at 0615 GMT on Saturday, Aug 26
August 26, 2017 / 12:07 AM / a month ago

REFILE-Reuters Sports Schedule at 0615 GMT on Saturday, Aug 26

(Fixes headline) Reuters sports schedule at 0615 GMT on Saturday:

BOXING

Mayweather, McGregor set for showdown

LAS VEGAS – Undefeated boxer Floyd Mayweather puts his 49-0 record on the line when he meets mixed martial arts fighter Conor McGregor, who is making his boxing debut, in the ring at T-Mobile Arena. (BOXING-MAYWEATHER-MCGREGOR/, expect by 0500 GMT/1 AM ET, by Steve Keating, 400 words)

SOCCER

Premier League

Bournemouth v Manchester City (1130)

Crystal Palace v Swansea City (1400)

Huddersfield Town v Southampton (1400)

Newcastle United v West Ham United (1400)

Watford v Brighton and Hove Albion (1400)

Manchester United v Leicester City (1630)

Man United host 2016 champions Leicester

Free-scoring Manchester United entertain 2016 champions Leicester City in the top match of six in the Premier League on Saturday with Manchester City playing at Bournemouth and surprise joint leaders Huddersfield Town at home to Southampton. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/(PIX), expect by 1330 GMT/9:30 AM ET, 500 words)

La Liga

Alaves v Barcelona (1615)

Girona FC v Malaga (1815)

Levante v Deportivo Coruna (1815)

Las Palmas v Atletico Madrid (2015)

Barcelona aim to avoid another shock against Alaves

VITORIA - Barcelona head to Alaves, who shocked them 2-1 last season, in their second game of their La Liga campaign, boosted by the return of captain Andres Iniesta from injury but still missing striker Luis Suarez. (SOCCER-SPAIN/ (PIX), expect by 1815 GMT/2:15 PM ET, by Richard Martin, 500 words)

Serie A

Benevento v Bologna (1600)

Genoa v Juventus (1600)

AS Roma v Inter Milan (1845)

Spalletti at helm for Inter against former club

MILAN - Inter Milan coach Luciano Spalletti makes a quick return to his former club AS Roma as the pair meet in the first major Serie A clash of the season while title holders Juventus visit Genoa. (SOCCER-ITALY/, expect from 1800 GMT/2 PM ET, 400 words)

Bundesliga

Bayer 04 Leverkusen v TSG 1899 Hoffenheim (1330)

Eintracht Frankfurt v VfL Wolfsburg (1330)

FC Augsburg v Borussia Moenchengladbach (1330)

VfB Stuttgart v Mainz (1330)

Werder Bremen v FC Bayern Munich (1330)

Borussia Dortmund v Hertha Berlin (1630)

Bayern aim to preserve 100 percent record

MUNICH - Defending champions Bayern Munich travel to Werder Bremen for the second match of the Bundesliga season. SOCCER-GERMANY/ (PIX, TV), expect by 1530 GMT/11:30 AM ET, 500 words)

Ligue 1

Nantes v Olympique Lyon (1515)

Amiens SC v Nice (1800)

Dijon FCO v Montpellier HSC (1800)

Girondins Bordeaux v ESTAC Troyes (1800)

Caen v Metz (1800)

Toulouse v Stade Rennes (1800)

TENNIS

Top players discuss U.S. Open preparations

NEW YORK – Top seeds Rafael Nadal and Karolina Pliskova, five-times winner Roger Federer and Wimbledon champion Garbine Muguruza are among the players expected to address the media ahead of the Aug. 28-Sept. 10 U.S. Open. (TENNIS-USOPEN/, expect by 2200 GMT/6 PM ET, by Rory Carroll, 400 words)

Dzumhur bids to become Bosnia’s first ATP Tour winner

Bosnian Damir Dzumhur will bid to become the Balkan nation’s first ATP Tour winner when he takes on last year’s finalist, Spaniard Roberto Bautista Agut, in the final tune-up event before the U.S. Open. (TENNIS-WINSTONSALEM/, expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, 300 words)

Cibulkova tries to deny Gavrilova first career title Second seed Dominika Cibulkova and Moscow-born Australian Daria Gavrilova, who has never won a WTA title, meet in the final of the Connecticut Open. (TENNIS-CONNECTICUT/, expect by 2200 GMT/6 PM ET, 300 words)

GOLF

PGA Tour: Northern Trust (to 27), Old Westbury, New York

Spieth part of stellar leaderboard

After a five-under 65 on Friday, hot-putting Jordan Spieth shares the lead with fellow Americans Dustin Johnson and Rickie Fowler, as well as Jhonattan Vegas of Venezuela heading into the third round of the first event of the PGA Tour’s FedExCup playoff series at the Glen Oaks Club on Long Island. (GOLF-NORTHERNTRUST/, expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, 400 words)

LPGA: CP Women’s Open (to 27): Ottawa, Ontario

Chun in charge in Canada

South Korean Chun In-gee, whose two LPGA victories have both come in majors, takes a two-shot lead into the third round at Ottawa Golf Club. (GOLF-WOMEN-CANADIANPACIFIC/, expect by 0100 GMT/9 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 300 words)

MOTOR RACING

Belgian Grand Prix qualifying

Hamilton aims to equal Schumacher’s pole record

SPA-FRANCORCHAMPS, Belgium - Lewis Hamilton can equal Michael Schumacher’s all-time record of 68 Formula One pole positions after the triple world champion set the pace for Mercedes in practice. (MOTOR-F1-BELGIUM/ (PIX, TV), expect by 1315 GMT/9.15 AM ET, by Alan Baldwin, 500 words)

We will also have stories from around the paddock.

CRICKET

West Indies resume on 19-1 in second test

LEEDS, England - West Indies, looking to overhaul England’s first innings total of 258, will resume on 19-1 on day two of the second test. (CRICKET-TEST-ENG-WIN/ (PIX), expect by 1300 GMT/9 AM ET, 400 words)

RUGBY

Rugby Championship

New Zealand v Australia, Dunedin (0735)

All Blacks look to seal Bledisloe Cup for 15th season

WELLINGTON - Dane Coles will play his 50th test as the All Blacks look to wrap up the Bledisloe Cup for the 15th successive season against a Wallabies team seeking redemption and looking to resurrect the sport’s fortunes at home. (RUGBY-UNION-CHAMPIONSHIP-NZL-AUS/, expect by 1000 GMT/6 AM ET, 400 words)

CYCLING

Vuelta a Espana

Froome bids to extend lead in stage eight

Chris Froome will wear the red jersey, hoping to preserve his 11-second lead in the general classification, during stage eight - 199.5 kilometres from Hellin to Xorret de Cati. The Briton is bidding for a Tour de France-Vuelta double, which no rider has achieved for 39 years. (CYCLING-VUELTA/ (TV), expect by 1800 GMT/2 PM ET, 400 words)

BADMINTON

World Championships

GLASGOW - Semi-final action as South Korea’s Son Wan-ho takes on China’s Lin Dan while Denmark’s Viktor Axelsen meets China’s Chen Long. (BADMINTON-WORLD-CHAMPIONSHIP/ (PIX), expect by 2000 GMT/4 PM ET, 300 words)

MOTOR CYCLING

MotoGP World Championship - British Grand Prix 2017

LUSAIL, QATAR - Qualifying for the British Grand Prix at Silverstone as Marc Marquez aims for a fourth-successive pole position. (MOTOR-MOTOGP-BRITAIN/(TV), expect by 1300 GMT/9 AM ET, 250 words)

BASEBALL

Greinke and D-backs face Giants, Dodgers face Brewers

Former Cy Young Award winner Zack Greinke and the Arizona Diamondbacks host the San Francisco Giants while Japanese right-hander Kenta Maeda takes the mound for the Los Angeles Dodgers versus the visiting Milwaukee Brewers in two of the 15 games on the Major League Baseball schedule. (BASEBALL-MLB-HIGHLIGHTS/, expect by 0530 GMT/1:30 AM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 800 words

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (Expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 500 words) (Asia desk editor: Ian Ransom)

Our Standards:The Thomson Reuters Trust Principles.
0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below