Reuters logo
Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Thursday, Aug 24
August 24, 2017 / 12:03 AM / a month ago

Reuters Sports Schedule at 1400 GMT on Thursday, Aug 24

Reuters sports schedule at 1400 GMT on Thursday:

SOCCER

English Premier League

Zlatan Ibrahimovic signs new one-year contract with Man United

MANCHESTER, England - Manchester United have re-signed striker Zlatan Ibrahimovic on a one-year contract, the Premier League club announced on Thursday. (SOCCER-ENGLAND-MUN/IBRAHIMOVIC, moved with update to follow)

We will have all the latest news ahead of this weekend’s fixtures including a clash between Liverpool and Arsenal. (SOCCER-ENGLAND-TEAM/, expect throughout, 300 words)

La Liga

Barca’s troubles continue as they face away test at Alaves

Barcelona’s institutional instability shows no sign of going away after another week of confusion in the transfer market, and the team will need to put on a show of unity in their first away trip of the season against Alaves. (SOCCER-SPAIN/ (PREVIEW), moved, by Richard Martin)

MOTOR RACING

Belgian Formula One Grand Prix

Formula One regroups in Belgium after the August break

SPA-FRANCORCHAMPS, Belgium - Kimi Raikkonen, with a Ferrari contract extension freshly inked, joins Dutch teenager Max Verstappen in a news conference with other drivers. Title rivals Lewis Hamilton and Sebastian Vettel are also scheduled to meet the media. (MOTOR-F1-BELGIUM/, expect by 1600 GMT/12 AM ET, by Alan Baldwin, 400 words.

We will also have stories from around the paddock.

RUGBY

Rugby Championship

New Zealand v Australia

All Blacks have eyes on Bledisloe Cup retention

WELLINGTON - New Zealand can wrap up the Bledisloe Cup for a 15th successive season if they beat Australia in their Rugby Championship clash in Dunedin, with hooker Dane Coles fit again and keen to put the last five injury-riddled months behind him. (RUGBY-UNION-CHAMPIONSHIP-NZL-AUS/ (PREVIEW), moved, 400 words)

We have also moved an accompanying FACTBOX

Argentina v South Africa

Hougaard is only change for Boks against Argentina

Experienced scrumhalf Francois Hougaard returns to South Africa’s starting line-up in place of injured Ross Cronje for their Rugby Championship fixture away to Argentina in Salta on Saturday. (RUGBY-UNION-CHAMPIONSHIP-ZAF/TEAM, moved)

Pumas boss Hourcade names side

Argentina coach Daniel Hourcade names his team for the home Rugby Championship test against South Africa in Salta on Saturday. (RUGBY-UNION-CHAMPIONSHIP-ARG/TEAM expect by 2200 GMT/5 PM ET, 300 words)

BOXING

LAS VEGAS - Mixed martial artist Conor McGregor stands to make up to $100 million from his boxing match with Floyd Mayweather in Las Vegas on Saturday and is not known for his humility, but the 29-year-old certainly has not forgotten where he came from. (BOXING-MCGREGOR/PROFILE (PIX), expect by 0100 GMT/9 PM ET by Philip O‘Connor, 650 words)

LAS VEGAS - Floyd Mayweather Jr. describes himself as a perfectionist and inside the ring the boxer known as the ‘Money Man’ is just that, his flawless professional record of 49-0 a monument to perfection that he will put on the line against mixed martial arts champion Conor McGregor. (BOXING-MAYWEATHER/PROFILE (PIX), expect by 0100 GMT/9 PM ET by Steve Keating, 500 words)

GOLF

PGA Tour: Northern Trust (to 27): Old Westbury, New York

Matsuyama heads standings as playoffs start

Japan’s Hideki Matsuyama leads the standings as the FedExCup four-event playoff series starts at the Glen Oaks Club on Long Island. (GOLF-NORTHERNTRUST/, expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, 400 words)

LPGA: CP Women’s Open (to 27): Ottawa, Ontario

Ariya Jutanugarn of Thailand is defending champion at the Ottawa Golf Club, where the field also includes Ryu So-yeon, Park Sung-hyun, Lydia Ko and Michelle Wie, (GOLF-WOMEN-CANADIANPACIFIC/, expect by 0100 GMT/9 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 300 words)

CRICKET

Sri Lanka v India second one-day international, Pallekele

Sri Lanka continue search for win against marauding India

PALLEKELE - India thumped Sri Lanka by nine wickets in the opening match and the hosts will need to improve their performance considerably if they are to defeat Virat Kohli’s men in the second of the five ODI series. (CRICKET-ODI-LKA-IND/ (PIX), expect by 1730 GMT/1:30 PM ET, 300 words)

ATHLETICS

Zurich Diamond League meeting

British distance runner Mo Farah will make the last track appearance of his career when he runs the 5,000 metres at the Weltklasse meeting where Ethiopia’s Muktar Edris, the man who beat him to the gold medal at the World Championships in London two weeks ago, will also be in the field, (ATHLETICS-DIAMOND/ZURICH, expect from 2100 GMT/5 PM ET, 400 words)

CYCLING

Vuelta a Espana

Briton Chris Froome leads going into stage six over 204.4kms from Vila-real to Sagunt. (CYCLING-VUELTA/ (TV), expect by 1800 GMT/2 PM ET, 400 words)

BADMINTON

World championships, Glasgow

Third day of play at the Emirates Arena. (BADMINTON-WORLD-CHAMPIONSHIP/ 300 words)

BASEBALL

Red Sox, Indians look to pad division leads

The AL East leading Boston Red Sox will hand the ball to ace Chris Sale when the team finishes off its four-game series against the AL Central-leading Cleveland Indians while 89-35 Los Angeles Dodgers continue to chase history when they visit the Pittsburgh Pirates in two of the 12 games on the Major League Baseball schedule. (BASEBALL-MLB-HIGHLIGHTS/, expect by 0530 GMT/1:30 AM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 800 words) (Asia desk editor: Peter Rutherford)

Our Standards:The Thomson Reuters Trust Principles.
0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below