April 28, 2018 / 6:02 AM / a month ago

Reuters Sports Schedule at 1445 GMT on Saturday

Reuters sports schedule at 1445 GMT on Saturday:

SOCCER

Premier League (1400 unless stated)

Burnley v Brighton & Hove Albion

Crystal Palace v Leicester City

Huddersfield Town v Everton

Newcastle United v West Bromwich Albion

Southampton v Bournemouth

Swansea City v Chelsea (1630)

Top-four battle and relegation fight come into sharp focus

LONDON - Top four hopefuls Chelsea visit relegation-threatened Swansea City in the late game after Liverpool were held to a 0-0 draw by struggling Stoke City, while several teams battling against the drop feature in the afternoon matches. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/ (PIX), expect from 1600 GMT/12 AM ET, by Neil Robinson and Marc Isaacs, 400 words)

La Liga

Real Sociedad v Athletic Club (1415)

Real Madrid v Leganes (1630)

Villarreal v Celta Vigo (1845)

Real face lowly Leganes as Barca prepare to clinch title

MADRID - If Real Madrid fail to beat Leganes and Atletico Madrid are unable to win at Alaves on Sunday then Barcelona, who in any case only need a point, will be champions before they kick off in Sunday’s late game. (SOCCER-SPAIN/ (PIX), expect from 1830 GMT/4:30 PM ET, by Richard Martin, 400 words)

Bundesliga (1330 unless stated)

Bayern Munich v Eintracht Frankfurt

Hertha Berlin v Augsburg

Freiburg v Cologne

Schalke 04 v Borussia Moenchengladbach

Vfl Wolfsburg v Hamburg SV

Bayer Leverkusen v Stuttgart (1630)

Hamburg on verge of relegation, Schalke eye Champions League

BERLIN - Former European champions Hamburg SV, the only club to have played in every Bundesliga season since the league was launched in 1963, could be relegated with defeat at VfL Wolfsburg, while Schalke 04 are bidding to secure a Champions League spot. (SOCCER-GERMANY/ (PIX), expect from 1530 GMT/11:30 AM ET, by Karolos Grohmann, 400 words)

Serie A

AS Roma v Chievo (1600)

Inter Milan v Juventus (1845)

Leaders Juve face tough trip to old rivals Inter

MILAN - Juventus, one point clear at the top, visit old rivals Inter Milan, knowing a slip-up could leave the door open for title rivals Napoli to leapfrog them when the Naples side visit Fiorentina on Sunday. (SOCCER-ITALY/ (PIX), expect from 1800 GMT/2 PM ET, by Brian Homewood, 400 words)

Ligue 1 (1800 unless stated)

Olympique Lyonnais v Nantes (1500)

Girondins Bordeaux v Dijon

Lille v Metz

AS Monaco v Amiens SC

Strasbourg v Nice

Troyes v Caen

Battle for Champions League spots on the agenda

PARIS - Second-placed AS Monaco host Amiens and Olympique Lyonnais, a point behind the principality side in third spot, welcome mid-table Nantes in the battle for Champions League places with Olympique de Marseille who play on Sunday. (SOCCER-FRANCE/ (PIX), expect from 2000 GMT/4 PM ET, 400 words)

TENNIS

Barcelona Open

Nadal faces goffin in semi, Tsitsipas awaits in final

BARCELONA - Rafael Nadal aims to extend his 17-match winning streak on clay when he takes on Belgium’s David Goffin in the semi-finals after Greek teenager Stefanos Tsitsipas upset Spain’s Pablo Carreno Busta to claim a place in the final. (TENNIS-BARCELONA/, moved with updates to follow, 300 words)

WTA International - Istanbul Cup

ISTANBUL - Pauline Parmentier plays Romania’s Irina-Camelia Begu in the semi-finals, while Polona Hercog takes on Maria Sakkari of Greece for a place in the final. (TENNIS-ISTANBUL/WOMEN, expect by 1700 GMT/1 PM ET, 200 words)

Stuttgart Grand Prix

Vandeweghe faces Garcia in semi-finals

American CoCo Vandeweghe will be up against sixth seed Caroline Garcia in the Stuttgart Grand Prix semi-finals. (TENNIS-STUTTGART/, expect by 1700 GMT/1 PM ET, 200 words)

MOTOR RACING

Formula One, Azerbaijan Grand Prix qualifying

Vettel beats Hamilton to pole hat-trick in Baku

BAKU - Ferrari’s Formula One championship leader Sebastian Vettel completed a pole position hat-trick on Saturday by beating title rival Lewis Hamilton to the top slot at the Azerbaijan Grand Prix. (MOTOR-F1-AZERBAIJAN/ (UPDATE 1, PIX, TV), moved, by Alan Baldwin, 400 words)

We will also have stories from around the paddock.

Formula E - Paris E-Prix

Championship leader Vergne looks for home success in Paris

PARIS - Frenchman Jean-Eric Vergne, driving for the Chinese-owned Techeetah team, leads the all-electric championship ahead of his home race in Paris. (MOTOR-ELECTRIC-FRANCE/ (PIX, TV), 300 words)

GOLF

PGA Tour: Zurich Classic, New Orleans (to 29)

Kim and Putnam set the halfway pace

The unheralded American duo of Michael Kim and Andrew Putnam set the pace at 13-under heading into the third round of the team event at TPC Louisiana, where the four ball (best ball) format will be used. (GOLF-ZURICH/, expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, 350 words)

European Tour: China Open

Spain’s Otaegui shares lead with Wallace in China

BEIJING - Spain’s Adrian Otaegui shot a five-under 67 in the China Open third round to join England’s overnight leader Matt Wallace with a one-stroke advantage atop the leaderboard on Saturday. (GOLF-CHINA/, moved, 300 words)

LPGA Tour: LPGA Mediheal Championship, Daly City, California (to 29)

Third round action from the Lake Merced course. (GOLF-LPGA/MEDIHEAL, expect by 0200 GMT/10 PM ET, 300 words)

RUGBY

Bulls v Otago Highlanders, Pretoria (1515)

Highlanders aim for more away success at improved Bulls

New Zealand’s Highlanders bring a record of three wins in four away clashes this year to Loftus Versfeld against a Bulls side showing a big improvement since John Mitchell took over as coach. (RUGBY-UNION-SUPER/BULLS, expect by 1705 GMT/1:05 PM ET, by Mark Gleeson, 400 words)

We have also moved rolling HIGHLIGHTS of every other match in the round.

NBA

Bucks and Celtics clash in Game Seven

The Milwaukee Bucks and Boston Celtics meet in the deciding Game Seven of their first round playoff series before the New Orleans Pelicans and reigning champion Golden State Warriors begin their Western Conference semi-final series in Oakland. (BASKETBALL-NBA/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0530 GMT/1:30 AM ET, by Field Level Media, 800 words)

NHL

Vegas out to halt Sharks again

The Vegas Golden Knights go for a 2-0 lead over the San Jose Sharks after the Boston Bruins visit the Tampa Bay Lightning to begin their Stanley Cup playoff series. (ICEHOCKEY-NHL/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0330 GMT/11:30 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 800 words)

BASEBALL

Cueto, Giants face Dodgers

San Francisco’s Johnny Cueto risks his league-low 0.35 earned run average against the Los Angeles Dodgers when the Giants pitcher seeks his third win of the season in the second game of a doubleheader between the West Coast rivals and Patrick Corbin puts his 4-0 record on the line when the Arizona Diamondbacks face the Washington Nationals in two of the 17 matchups on the Major League Baseball schedule. (BASEBALL-MLB/HIGHLIGHTS, expect by 0530 GMT/1:30 AM ET, by Field Level Media, 800 words)

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, by Field Level Media, 500 words) (Europe Desk Editor: Ken Ferris)

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below