Reuters logo
Reuters Sports Schedule at 1445 GMT on Wednesday, Aug 23
August 23, 2017 / 12:03 AM / 4 months ago

Reuters Sports Schedule at 1445 GMT on Wednesday, Aug 23

Reuters sports schedule at 1445 GMT on Wednesday:

SOCCER

Wayne Rooney announces end of England career

Wayne Rooney announced his retirement from the England national team on Wednesday, ending a 14-year stint in which he became the country’s top goalscorer with 53 goals. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/ROONEY-RETIREMENT/, moved, by Simon Evans)

Champions League playoff round second leg ties

ZURICH - Liverpool, leading 2-1 from last week’s first leg, need only to avoid defeat at home to Hoffenheim to qualify for the Champions League group stage in the second leg of their playoff tie. CSKA Moscow, Qarabag and APOEL also defend first-leg leads while FCSB and Sporting all are square. (SOCCER-CHAMPIONS/ expect at 2100 GMT/5 PM ET, 400 words, by Brian Homewood)

English Premier League

We will have all the latest news ahead of this weekend’s fixtures including a clash between Liverpool and Arsenal. (SOCCER-ENGLAND-TEAM/, expect throughout, 300 words)

Asian Champions League

HONG KONG - Urawa Red Diamonds take on Kawasaki Frontale in the first leg of their all-Japanese quarter-final clash in the Asian Champions League. (SOCCER-ASIA/ACL expect by 1700 GMT/1 PM ET, 400 words)

MOTOR RACING

Belgian Formula One Grand Prix

PREVIEW-Hamilton needs to step up in his 200th race

LONDON - Lewis Hamilton will start the 200th grand prix of his Formula One career in Belgium this weekend but the triple world champion has smaller but more significant numbers on his mind. (MOTOR-F1-BELGIUM/, moved, by Alan Baldwin)

We will also have a drivers’ form sheet and statistics for Sunday’s race at Spa-Francorchamps.

RUGBY

Rugby Championship

New Zealand v Australia

WELLINGTON - The All Blacks and Wallabies name their sides for their second Rugby Championship clash in Dunedin with the world champions looking to seal the Bledisloe Cup with a game to spare. (RUGBY-UNION-CHAMPIONSHIP-NZL-AUS/TEAM, expect by 1700 GMT/1 PM ET, 400 words)

BOXING

Undefeated boxer Floyd Mayweather and mixed martial arts fighter Conor McGregor meet face to face in their final news conference before Saturday’s much-hyped bout in Las Vegas. (BOXING-MAYWEATHER-MCGREGOR/, expect by 0100 GMT/9 PM ET, 400 words)

TENNIS

Boris Becker appointed head of German men’s tennis

FRANKFURT - Three-time Wimbledon champion Boris Becker was appointed on Wednesday as head of men’s tennis in his home country as the German federation (DTB) looks to revive the once hugely popular sport. (TENNIS-GERMANY/BECKER (PIX, TV), moved, by Karolos Grohmann)

US Open

Former world number one John McEnroe and 18-time Grand Slam champion Chrissie Evert will preview the 2017 US Open when they speak to the media on Wednesday. (TENNIS-USOPEN/MCENROE, 2100 GMT/4 PM ET, 350 words)

CYCLING

Vuelta d‘Espana

Chris Froome will be eager to strengthen his bid to win the Vuelta d‘Espana for the first time as the riders head for the fifth stage, an uphill finish after the peloton rides 175.7 kilometres from Benicassim to Acossebre. (CYCLING-VUELTA/ (TV), expect by 1800 GMT/2 PM ET, 400 words)

BADMINTON

South Korea’s top seed Son Wan-ho and Chinese seventh seed Lin Dan in action among the men. Defending women’s champion Carolina Marin from Spain begins her campaign. (BADMINTON-WORLD-CHAMPIONSHIP/ 300 words)

BASEBALL

Cubs battle Reds in Cincinnati

Left-handed pitcher Mike Montgomery will sub for the injured Jon Lester when the Chicago Cubs take on the Cincinnati Reds while Rich Hill gets the call for the NL-leading Los Angeles Dodgers when they battle righty Trevor Williams and the Pittsburgh Pirates in two of the 15 games on the Major League Baseball schedule. (BASEBALL-MLB-HIGHLIGHTS/, expect by 0530 GMT/1:30 AM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 800 words)

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0000 GMT/8 PM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 500 words) (Asia desk editor: Peter Rutherford)

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below