December 5, 2019 / 7:05 PM / 2 months ago

Factbox: Trump impeachment - What happens next?

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - House of Representatives Speaker Nancy Pelosi said Thursday she had directed a House committee to draft articles of impeachment against U.S. President Donald Trump.

The move sets in motion a process that will probably move to a trial in the Senate.

Here is what happens in coming days:

Friday, Dec. 6

Trump has a 5 p.m. ET (2200 GMT) deadline to respond to the House Judiciary Committee’s request to say whether he intends to mount a defence at further proceedings expected next week. “If he wants to, it will be done - I presume - next week,” chairman Jerrold Nadler said Thursday.

Monday, Dec. 9

The House Judiciary Committee holds its next impeachment hearing at 9 a.m. ET (1400 GMT), which will focus on presentations from the House Intelligence Committee.

Thursday, Dec. 12

The Judiciary Committee may draw up articles of impeachment — or formal charges — against Trump and recommend them to the full House by the 12th, two Congressional sources told Reuters.

Friday, Dec. 20

The House is expected to recess until January 7, 2020.

Reporting by Susan Cornwell, Richard Cowan, David Morgan, and Patricia Zengerle; Editing by Alistair Bell

0 : 0
  • narrow-browser-and-phone
  • medium-browser-and-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser
  • wide-browser-and-larger
  • medium-browser-and-landscape-tablet
  • medium-wide-browser-and-larger
  • above-phone
  • portrait-tablet-and-above
  • above-portrait-tablet
  • landscape-tablet-and-above
  • landscape-tablet-and-medium-wide-browser
  • portrait-tablet-and-below
  • landscape-tablet-and-below