People: Sun Tv Network Ltd (SUTV.NS)

SUTV.NS on National Stock Exchange of India

20 Sep 2019
Change (% chg)

Rs39.85 (+9.54%)
Prev Close
Day's High
Day's Low
Avg. Vol
52-wk High
52-wk Low

Maran, Kalanithi 

Mr. Kalanithi Maran is Executive Chairman of the Board of Sun TV Network Ltd. He resigned as Managing Director of the Company with effect from April 19, 2012. He has a bachelor’s degree in commerce from the University of Madras, Chennai and a masters Degree in Business Administration from the University of Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA. After his post-graduation he joined the family business, a publication company of five publications (dailies and weeklies), as an apprentice. In 1990 he took over as the Chairman of Company and of the other Promoter Group Companies. He launched one of the first regional video magazines ‘Poomalai’ in Tamil in 1991. Under his leadership Company launched Sun TV in 1993, one of India’s first international regional language satellite television channels, and Suryan FM. He is currently in charge of the day to day operations and activities of the Company. He has been awarded the ‘Rajiv Gandhi Entrepreneur Award’ in 1995, the Worldcom ‘Indian Young Business Achiever Award’ in 1999. He represented India at the World Young Business Achiever Awards in Portugal in 1999 and was also awarded the Worldcom ‘World Young Business Achiever Award’ in 1999 for creativity. He was awarded the ‘Indian Junior Chamber Zone XVI — Young Person’ award in 2000, the Ernst and Young ‘Businessman Award’ for the entertainment and information sector in 2004, and the Indian Today ‘Service Czars Tamil Nadu’s New Age Titans’ in 2005. He has also been awarded a ‘Commendation for Displaying Extraordinary Corporate Leadership and Entrepreneurial Spirit’ in 2005 by CNBC Television.

Basic Compensation

Total Annual Compensation, INR 598,899,968
Restricted Stock Award, INR --
Long-Term Incentive Plans, INR --
All Other, INR --
Fiscal Year Total, INR 598,899,968

Options Compensation

  Quantity Market Value
Exercisable -- --
Unexercisable -- --
Exercised -- --
Name Fiscal Year Total

Kalanithi Maran


K. Vijaykumar


V. Unnikrishnan


C. Praveen


S. Kannan


R. Ravi

As Of  31 Mar 2014